Uttar Pradesh states it plainly: “No. The application process is completely free for all candidates. There is no application fee for General, OBC, SC, ST, or any category.”Andhra Pradesh: “No, you don’t have to pay any application fee. The entire process is free for all candidates.”
Advertisement
Telangana’s Anganwadi Teacher notifications: “There is no application fee mentioned for this recruitment. Candidates from all categories can apply free of cost through the official portal.”
Some aggregator sites say otherwise. One states that “the Anganwadi application form needs to be filled out online with a specified application fee.” That is generic filler, and it does not match what the state notifications actually say.
Advertisement
This guide sets out the fee position state by state, explains why the post is free, names the exceptions, and lists what the application genuinely does cost you.
The Short Answer
| Post | Fee |
|---|---|
| Anganwadi Worker (AWW / Sevika / Sangini / Karyakartri) | Nil in the states documented |
| Anganwadi Helper (AWH / Sahayika / Madatnis) | Nil |
| Anganwadi Teacher (AWT) — Telangana | Nil |
| Mini Anganwadi Worker | Nil |
| Anganwadi Supervisor — via State PSC / SSSC | May apply — varies by state |
| CDPO — via State PSC | Varies — Kerala is free |
The dividing line is the recruiter. Worker, Helper and Teacher posts are filled by the district ICDS office under the District Programme Officer. Supervisor and CDPO posts are filled by a State Public Service Commission or Subordinate Staff Selection Commission — and commissions charge fees.
1. State by State
| State | Fee | Source position |
|---|---|---|
| Uttar Pradesh | Nil | “No application fee for General, OBC, SC, ST, or any category” |
| Andhra Pradesh | Nil | “The entire process is free for all candidates” |
| Telangana (AWT/AWH) | Nil | “Candidates from all categories can apply free of cost through the official portal” |
| Telangana (wider drive) | Expected ₹200 General/OBC, ₹100 SC/ST | “The exact fee will be confirmed in the official notification. Some previous recruitments had zero fee for all categories” |
| Jammu & Kashmir | Not stated | Offline application by Speed Post / Registered Post |
| Maharashtra | Not stated | Applications submitted to the CDPO of the project |
| Odisha | Not stated | Applications to the CDPO of the project area |
Note Telangana’s position carefully. The general drive is reported as expecting a nominal fee — but the actual AWT and AWH notifications released across 12 districts state no fee. Where a source describes a fee as “expected,” it is a projection. The notification is the authority.
2. Why It Is Free
The explanation is in the nature of the post, and one source states it directly:
“AWT/AWH posts are honorarium-based community appointments, and these recruitment drives are generally conducted without any application fee; candidates can confirm with the local CDPO office for certainty.”
Three things follow from that.
These are not competitive examinations. There is no written test for Worker and Helper posts. Selection is merit-based on your 10th or 12th marks, followed by document verification. There is no examination to fund, no answer sheets to process, no centres to hire.
They are community appointments. You can only apply for the Anganwadi Centre in your own ward or Gram Panchayat. The applicant pool for any one centre may be two people. A fee structure makes no sense at that scale.
The post pays an honorarium, not a salary. As covered across this series, the Anganwadi Worker receives ₹4,500 in central honorarium plus a state component, and the Helper ₹2,250 plus a state component. Charging a fee to apply for an honorary post would be difficult to justify.
The contrast with competitive examinations is instructive:
| Examination | Fee |
|---|---|
| Anganwadi Worker / Helper | Nil |
| SSC CGL | ₹100 — nil for women, SC, ST, PwBD, Ex-Servicemen |
| IBPS PO | ₹850 |
| RBI Grade B | ~₹850 |
| CSIR-NET | ₹1,150 General |
| SAI Assistant Coach | ₹2,500 / ₹2,000 |
| AIIMS Senior Resident | ₹500 – ₹3,000 |
Anganwadi recruitment is the only entry in this entire series that is free to everyone, in every category, with no exam.
3. The Exceptions — Supervisor and CDPO
Where the recruiter is a State Public Service Commission, a fee may apply.
| Recruitment | Fee |
|---|---|
| Kerala PSC — CDPO | Nil — “Applications are submitted free of cost” |
| TGPSC — Hostel Welfare Officer and related welfare posts | ₹200 application processing fee + ₹80 examination fee |
| Punjab PPSC — CDPO | Per notification |
| OSSSC — ICDS Supervisor | Per notification |
Note Kerala’s position: its CDPO recruitment — a gazetted-level post requiring a Master’s degree — carries no fee at all. Telangana’s welfare-cadre posts carry ₹280 in total.
The general rule: a fee at Supervisor or CDPO level is nominal where it exists, and several states charge nothing.
4. What the Application Actually Costs You
The form is free. The application is not costless.
| Item | Why |
|---|---|
| Domicile / residence certificate | Mandatory, and the single most important document — “candidates eliminated for local residency mismatch are eliminated regardless of merit rank” |
| Caste certificate | For SC/ST/OBC/BC/EWS claims |
| Income certificate | Required at UP’s document verification |
| Nativity certificate | Accepted as residence proof in Andhra Pradesh |
| Passport-size photographs | AP requires the signature across the photo |
| Scanned photo and signature | Format and size specified |
| Internet / CSC charges | Where you do not have a device or connection |
| Speed Post / Registered Post | J&K, Odisha and AP districts accept offline only — “applications sent by ordinary post… will be summarily rejected” |
| Travel to the ICDS Project Office | Document verification is in person |
| Attested Xerox copies | Telangana requires “original certificates and attested Xerox copies… submitted in person at the respective ICDS Project Office” |
The certificates are the real cost, and the residence certificate is the one that matters most. It takes time to obtain, it is issued by a competent authority, and no amount of merit survives its absence.
Obtain it before the notification, not after. Windows are short — Telangana’s Mahabubnagar ran 10 days, and “there is no indication of an extension.”
5. On Verifying the Process
Because the application is free and there is no examination, the guidance is simple and worth stating positively.
Apply only on the official portal. Each state runs its own:
| State | Portal |
|---|---|
| Central information | wcd.nic.in |
| Uttar Pradesh | upanganwadibharti.in |
| Telangana | wdcw.tg.nic.in · mis.tgwdcw.in |
| Odisha | wcdodisha.gov.in |
| Tamil Nadu | icds.tn.gov.in |
| Jammu & Kashmir | jkicds.com |
| Bihar | icdsonline.bih.nic.in |
Applications are made online, or by post to a named officer — the Child Development Project Officer of your project area, or the District Programme Officer. There is no intermediary in this process.
No payment is required at any stage for Worker, Helper or Teacher posts in the states documented. Where a state does charge — as Telangana’s wider drive may — the amount is stated in the notification and paid through the official portal.
Confirm with your local CDPO office if you are unsure. The sources themselves recommend it: “candidates can confirm with the local CDPO office for certainty.” That office is in your own block, it issued the notification, and it will verify your documents later in any case.
And read the notification PDF. “For any discrepancy, always refer to the official notification PDF.” Every state says a version of this, and it is the only document that binds.
6. Where the Notice Appears — For Free
One more thing costs nothing, and it is the most useful line in this guide for a rural applicant.
Odisha’s guidance: “Notifications are published on the Women and Child Development department website and pasted on gram panchayat notice boards.”
For a post restricted to residents of one ward, the panchayat notice board is the most efficient distribution there is. It may carry the notice before any website does, and reading it costs nothing.
Uttar Pradesh’s portal similarly publishes district notices directly — and the state’s system is designed around it: “It enables eligible candidates to apply for positions in their respective districts without visiting offices physically.” The only in-person requirement is document verification at the district office.
7. Live Now — Uttar Pradesh
UP’s Anganwadi Bharti Portal shows active district notifications, all free:
| District | Last date |
|---|---|
| Bagpat, Kannauj, Bijnour, Kanpur Nagar | 15–16 July 2026 |
| Agra, Aligarh | 20 July 2026 |
| Moradabad | 23 July 2026 |
| Mathura | 24 July 2026 |
| Chandauli | 25 July 2026 |
| Shravasti | 27 July 2026 |
| Siddharthnagar, Pratapgarh | 28 July 2026 |
| Mainpuri | 30 July 2026 |
| Deoria, Varanasi | 31 July 2026 |
| Shahjahanpur | 03 August 2026 |
Vacancy counts where reported: Bagpat 635 (261 Worker + 374 Helper), Bijnour 528, Kanpur Nagar 259, Siddharthnagar 353, Kannauj 125 (Worker only, across 9 project blocks).
“The UP Anganwadi Recruitment 2026 is conducted entirely at the district level under the supervision of the respective District Programme Officers (DPO). Each district releases its own notification with specific vacancy details, block-wise distribution, and application deadlines.”
And the condition that governs everything: “Candidates must be permanent residents of the same Gram Sabha or Ward where the vacancy exists — this is a mandatory and non-negotiable eligibility condition.”
All of it free. None of it forgiving on residence.
8. Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is there an application fee for Anganwadi Worker or Helper posts? No, in the states documented. Uttar Pradesh: “There is no application fee for General, OBC, SC, ST, or any category.” Andhra Pradesh: “The entire process is free for all candidates.” Telangana’s AWT and AWH notifications: “Candidates from all categories can apply free of cost.”
Q2. Why do some websites say there is a fee? Generic aggregator pages sometimes state that the form “needs to be filled out online with a specified application fee.” That does not match what the state notifications say. The notification PDF is the authority — read it before paying anything.
Q3. Does Telangana charge a fee? Its AWT and AWH notifications state no fee. A wider Telangana drive has been reported as expecting a nominal ₹200 for General/OBC and ₹100 for SC/ST — but that source itself notes: “The exact fee will be confirmed in the official notification. Some previous recruitments had zero fee for all categories.“
Q4. Is there a fee for Anganwadi Supervisor or CDPO? It varies by state, because the recruiter is a State Public Service Commission rather than the district ICDS office. Kerala PSC charges nothing for CDPO. TGPSC charges ₹200 processing plus ₹80 examination fee for its welfare-cadre posts. Check your state’s notification.
Q5. Why is Anganwadi recruitment free? Because these are honorarium-based community appointments, not competitive examinations. There is no written test for Worker and Helper posts — selection is on your 10th or 12th marks. You can only apply for the centre in your own ward. And the post pays an honorarium rather than a salary.
Q6. What does the application actually cost? The form is free. You will pay for a domicile or residence certificate, a caste certificate where applicable, an income certificate in UP, photographs, internet or CSC charges, Speed Post or Registered Post where the state accepts offline applications only, and travel to the ICDS Project Office for in-person document verification.
Q7. Where do I apply? On your state’s official portal — upanganwadibharti.in (UP), wdcw.tg.nic.in and mis.tgwdcw.in (Telangana), wcdodisha.gov.in (Odisha), icds.tn.gov.in (Tamil Nadu), jkicds.com (J&K), icdsonline.bih.nic.in (Bihar) — or by post to the Child Development Project Officer of your project area. There is no intermediary in this process.
Q8. How can I be sure about the fee in my district? Read the notification PDF, and if in doubt, confirm with your local CDPO office. The sources recommend exactly that: “candidates can confirm with the local CDPO office for certainty.” It is the office that issued the notification and will verify your documents.
Disclaimer: This article is for general information only. Application fees for Anganwadi recruitment are set by each state’s Women & Child Development department and, for Supervisor and CDPO posts, by the concerned State Public Service Commission or Subordinate Staff Selection Commission; positions differ by state, by post and by notification, and are revised periodically. Figures and fee positions cited are drawn from specific state notifications and reporting current at the time of writing and are not applicable nationally. Some secondary sources state that a fee applies generally; the state notifications documented here do not support that. Candidates must read the official notification for their own district before applying, and may confirm with their local Child Development Project Officer, treating the notification as the final authority.